Mzee Ojwang and Professor Hamo win prestigious awards

  • Published:

Big wins.

Professor Hamo and Mzee Ojwang win prestigious awards play

Mzee Ojwang and Professor Hamo


Churchill Show’s Professor Hamo and Mzee Ojwang have bagged awards at the recently concluded Sanaa Theater Awards.

Hamo carried the prize for the Best Comedian on TV while the late Mzee Ojwang was awarded Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Best Actor

Gilbert Lukalia (Legally Insane)

Best Actress

Elsie Akinyi (Sarafina, Cinderella)

Best Actress in Supporting Role

Mkamzee Mwatela (Jesus Christ Superstar, Sarafina)

play Best Actress in Supporting Role (Stay TV)


Best Actor in Supporting Role

Bilal Wanjau (The Jungle Book, Robinhood, Minister Karibu)

Best Director

Mbeki Mwalimu (Strangers by Blood, Legally Insane)

Best Playwright

 Walter Sitati (Necessary Madness)

Best Production

Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Best Tragedy

 Lwanda Magere Revisited (Kwe Kalyet)

Best Musical Theatre

Jesus Christ the Superstar 2, Robinhood)

Best Play in English

Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Best Play in Kiswahili

Amezidi - Silent Hitch (Hardik Modha)

Best Producer

 Hon Cleophas Malala

Best Theatre, Art and Culture Writer

James Murua (African Literature)

Best Set, Light And Sound Design

(Light) Tingatinga Tales

(Set) Robinhood, Aperture Productions

(Sound) Kwe Kalyet

play Tingatinga Tales (Courtesy)


Best All-Time Supporting Institution

 Alliance Française

Best Performing Theatre Space

 Kenya National Theatre

Most Improved Theatre Space

Kenya National Theatre (Ukumbi Mdogo)

Best Production on Governance And Human Rights

 Necessary Madness (Martin Luther King Junior Award)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Peter Mudamba Mudamba

Nicholas Moipei

Muthoni Garland

Benson Wanjau (Ojwang Hatari)

Dr. Jospheta Mukobe

Gilbert Owino

Best Narrative Theatre

Annabel - Kenyatta University

Maimuna Jallow

Best Costumes

Robinhood, Aperture Productions

Best Comedy Sugar and Spice


Best Dance Theatre

Sarakasi Dancers

Best Play in a Local Language

Rugama Ringi, Fanaka Arts (Gikuyu)

Best Production on Reproductive Health

Stranger in My Bed by Dr. Zippy Okoth

Best Production on Child Rights and Protection

Sauti Ya Watoto by Diya Piyush Gohil

Best Production on Women Rights and Gender Based Violence (Maya Angelou Award)

 Too Early For Birds (Brazen Edition)

Best Spoken Word and Poetry

 Lest We Forget (John Sibi Okumu & Davina Leonard)(Rosa Parks Award)

Best Production of TV Comedy Recorded Before A Live Audience

 Comedy Arena- KBC

Best Comedian on TV Male

Professor Hamo -Churchill Show, NTV

Best Comedian on TV Female

Zuleka -  Vioja Mahakamani, KBC

Best TV Art Culture Program/News/Magazine Lifestyle

Artistic Tuesday (KTN)

Best Art and Culture Magazine / Newspaper

 Kenya Buzz

Best Production Primary School

The Forgotten Brother (Juja Preparatory)

Best Production Secondary School

The Burdens (Kakamega School)

Best Production College and University

(Prof Chris Wanjala Award) State of Incommunicado (Kenyatta University)

Best Live Music Performance

Diya Piyush Gohil (Daniel Pearl Award)

Best Supporting County

 Kisumu County

Distinguished Diaspora Award (Owiso Odera Award)

Tingatinga Tales

Special Jury’s Awards

 Nick Ndeda

About Sanaa Theatre Awards

Established 5 years ago, Sanaa Theatre Awards aims at ‘recognizing and rewarding excellence in the field of theatre including theatre performed by youth in and out of school.’

Read Also: Mercy Kyallo, Abel Mutua and Anyiko Owoko wins prestigious Awards


Top 3

1 Who is Quiin Abenakyo, the girl Ugandans are voting for at Miss World?bullet
2 American rapper Desiigner gets robbed and undressed during Nairobi...bullet
3 Top 6 most searched Ugandan celebrities on Google in 2018bullet